ON DIVINIZATION – ON THEOSIS – ST PATRICK OF IRELAND (MARCH 17, +461)

https://irelandofmyheart.wordpress.com

IRELAND OF MY HEART

whispery wonderland

Saint Patrick of Ireland (March 17, +461)

The Apostle of Ireland. A Romano-Briton born in what is now England, at the age of sixteen he was abducted and taken to Ireland. However, he escaped after six years. He then went to monasteries in France and about the year 432 returned to Ireland as a bishop. He travelled throughout the country preaching, teaching, building churches, establishing monasteries and converting chiefs and bards. He was the first organiser of the Irish Church and was based in Armagh.

http://orthodoxengland.org.uk

ORTHODOX ENGLAND

Patrick_of_Ireland

On Divinization – On Theosis

St. Patrick of Ireland

And if at any time I managed anything of good for the sake of my God whom I love, I beg of him that he grant it to me to shed my blood for His name with proselytes and captives, even should I be left unburied, or even were my wretched body to be torn limb from limb by dogs or savage beasts, or were it to be devoured by the birds of the air, I think, most surely, were this to have happened to me, I had saved both my soul and my body. For beyond any doubt on that day we shall rise again in the brightness of the sun (cf. Isa. 30.26), that is, in the glory of Christ Jesus our Redeemer (cf. 1 Cor. 15:43, Phil. 3:20-21), as ”sons of the living” God (Rom. 9:26) and “co-heirs of Christ” (Rom. 8.17), ”conformed to his image” (cf. Rom. 8.29); for we shall reign “through him and for him and in him” (Rom. 11.36). (St. Patrick’s Confessio)

Source:

St. Patrick’s Confessio

Leave a Reply

