“SKELLIG” SONG BY LOREENA MCKENNITT, CANADA – THE LAST WORDS OF AN ANCIENT ORTHODOX MONK IN SKELLIG ISLANDS, IRELAND – VIDEO

http://smileofireland.blogspot.com

http://irelandandbritishisles.wordpress.com

http://irelandofmyheart.worspress.com

SMILE OF IRELAND

IRELAND AND BRITISH ISLES

IRELAND OF MY HEART

27PERSONAL1-articleLarge.jpg

Photo: Skellig Islands, Ireland

skellig-mhicil-huts1.jpg

Photo: The Ancient Orthodox Monastery

in Skellig Michael Island, Ireland

The Skellig Islands (Irish: Na Scealaga), once known as the Skellocks, are two small, steep, and rocky islands lying about 13 km west of Bolus Head on the Iveragh Peninsula in County Kerry, Ireland. The larger of the two is Skellig Michael (also known as Great Skellig) and together with Little Skellig are at the centre of a 364 ha Important Bird Area established by BirdWatch Ireland in 2000. Skellig Michael is also famous for an early Christian monastery (6th century-850).

“Skellig” by Loreena McKennitt

The lyrics of the song are the last words of an Orthodox monk who ascetic monastery Skellig Michael (the Rock of the Archangel Michael) in Ireland.

LOREENA MCKENNITT LYRICS

“Skellig”

O light the candle, John
The daylight has almost gone
The birds have sung their last
The bells call all to mass

Sit here by my side
For the night is very long
There’s something I must tell
Before I pass along

I joined the brotherhood
My books were all to me
I scribed the words of God
And much of history

Many a year was I
Perched out upon the sea
The waves would wash my tears,
The wind, my memory

I’d hear the ocean breathe
Exhale upon the shore
I knew the tempest’s blood
Its wrath I would endure

And so the years went by
Within my rocky cell
With only a mouse or bird
My friend; I loved them well

And so it came to pass
I’d come here to Romani
And many a year it took
Till I arrived here with thee

On dusty roads I walked
And over mountains high
Through rivers running deep
Beneath the endless sky

Beneath these jasmine flowers
Amidst these cypress trees
I give you now my books
And all their mysteries

Now take the hourglass
And turn it on its head
For when the sands are still
‘Tis then you’ll find me dead

O light the candle, John
The daylight is almost gone
The birds have sung their last
The bells call all to mass

Loreena-McKennitt-en-Argentina.jpg

Leave a Reply

